On January 8, 2011, I had coffee with Margaret Jefferies in Lyttelton, New Zealand. My friend Joan Huling of Gore, New Zealand introduced me to Margaret. I was grateful that Margaret set aside some time for me and my mother.

Margaret told us about her community-building projects in Lyttelton. They have started a farmer’s market, community gardens and more. See their web site for more info:

– http://www.lyttelton.net.nz/

I was intrigued with the TimeBank that they’re using. Members contribute and use time. They’ve found this to be a useful community-building system. And it has been especially useful after the earthquakes in both September of 2010 and February of 2011.

I’m now looking if there have been TimeBanks started in Ottawa. Let me know if you know of one.

Here is Margaret Jefferies and my mother, Sascha Rehmer at the market in Lyttelton.

Pamela

